Berkeleyscot’s Weblog

Life as a Scot in California

  • Categories

  • Calendar

    November 2007
    S M T W T F S
    « Oct   Dec »
     123
    45678910
    11121314151617
    18192021222324
    252627282930  
  • Archives

Life in Berkeley

Posted by berkeleyscot on November 19, 2007

On Saturday, November 17, I went to Blow Salon for my regular cut and highlights.

For years I vowed I’d never have my hair coloured, but once I met Jil, the owner of Blow Salon, she persuaded to try it and do it for fun. Now I’ve no idea how grey my hair is below all the shades of red.

Jil has recently moved into a new apartment and had decided to get rid of possessions she no longer had use or room for. So, on Saturday, she held a garage sale in a room at the back of the salon, tended by friends.

I was in the cutting chair, laughing and talking with Jil and I looked in the mirror, not at myself, but at the rest of the salon, behind me.

I saw a familiar person  approach the reception desk and ask where the garage sale was. It was Professor Zadeh!           

We came to Berkeley because of Professor Zadeh. He was Richard’s mentor and professor when Richard was a post doc at UC Berkeley.

We knew that Professor Zadeh hadn’t come for a haircut cos he has little to cut, but we know his hobby and passion are garage sales.

He doesn’t need the stuff, but he loves the barter and exchange.

This is the week of Thanksgiving. Professor Zadeh and his wife, Fay, invited us to share the celebration when were newly arrived.

What a happy, cosmic, Berkeley, experience to see Professor Zadeh walk into our hairdresser’s to ask directions to a garage sale.

I’m going into the Tardis now….. Whee Wheee Wheeee

One Response to “Life in Berkeley”

  1. Mr B said

    The first time I visited Prof Z’s home, one end of the living room was filled with hi-fi equipment acquired at garage sales!

Leave a Reply

 
