Berkeleyscot’s Weblog

Life as a Scot in California

  • Categories

  • Calendar

    November 2007
    S M T W T F S
    « Oct   Dec »
     123
    45678910
    11121314151617
    18192021222324
    252627282930  
  • Archives

Golden Wedding Anniversaries

Posted by berkeleyscot on November 28, 2007

Several relatives and former Scottish neighbours have celebrated Golden Wedding Anniversaries this year.

I remember attending some of the weddings when I was wee.

I like to send a card of congratulations to mark the special day, but Golden Wedding cards are hard to find in this area.

I usually buy them from Papyrus in North Berkeley, but their selection is small.

I visited 2 other stationery stores, but their selection only went as far as 25th wedding anniversaries. I suppose I could have bought 2 25th anniversary cards and sent them!

Are long-lived marriages so rare these days that stationery stores think it’s not profitable to stock anniversary cards to send to couples who have been married 50 years?

Photo 1 is of my late Grandparents, John and Annie Cowie, who celebrated their Golden Wedding anniversary in 1965.

Photo 2 is of myself (on the left,) with cousin Edna, Granny, Granda, Mam and a family friend. This was in 1957 and the bride and groom recently celebrated their Golden Wedding Anniversary. I sent them a card.

picture296.jpg

Leave a Reply

 
