Berkeleyscot’s Weblog

Life as a Scot in California

  • Categories

  • Calendar

    December 2007
    S M T W T F S
    « Nov   Jan »
     1
    2345678
    9101112131415
    16171819202122
    23242526272829
    3031  
  • Archives

Are you ready for Christmas?

Posted by berkeleyscot on December 16, 2007

Does anyone find that that question only adds to the stresses of the Season?

I really don’t know what the question means, but I’m guessing I’m being asked if I’ve bought all my gifts, wrapped them, written and sent cards and letters.

But my Christmas is international and I prepare my Christmas cards to send to Scotland months in advance.

Christmas cards from Scotland start arriving at Halloween. This is because the older folk believe that all mail going abroad is sent by sea. It’s really sweet. But now all mail is sent by air and there are no special sea rates.

I believe I’ve sent all my international cards and am processing the inland ones. But the postage rate was increased by 2 cents this year and I’ve got lots of the old rate stamps. I can’t bear to queue in the Post Office for 2 cents stamps. My local branch does not provide seating. (Note to self: Contact the Post Office about seating.)

I’ve sent for 2 cents stamps. They probably won’t arrive till the New Year. So that’s my excuse, but apart from that, I’m ready for Christmas all year round.

One Response to “Are you ready for Christmas?”

  1. Richard G said

    I think “are you ready for Christmas” really means are you in the right frame of mind with a cupboard well stocked for visitors and everything under control so that you can really relax … the presents and shopping are just “noise” to be suffered.

Leave a Reply

 
