Berkeleyscot’s Weblog

Life as a Scot in California

  • Categories

  • Calendar

    January 2008
    S M T W T F S
    « Dec   Feb »
     12345
    6789101112
    13141516171819
    20212223242526
    2728293031  
  • Archives

Robbie Shepherd and his Doric Column

Posted by berkeleyscot on January 16, 2008

Thanks to a fellow W.A.G. (Wee Annie’s Gang), who emailed me the information, I can listen to Robbie Shepherd’s Doric Column on an Internet podcast. I also listen to his 2 weekly shows, ‘Take the Floor,’ and ‘The Reel Blend,’ in which he presents the best in Scottish dance music.

‘Take the Floor’ airs on BBC Radio Scotland on Saturday evenings and opens with the  reel, ‘Kate Dalrymple.’ This reel opened the programme when I listened to it in Scotland, over 50 years ago. Obviously, Robbie wasn’t the presenter then!

So, between listening to Los Dos Andies, Mack‘n’Ross, and now Robbie, I get as much Scottish music as I want.

If you’ve never heard a Doric Column before, go to the Press and Journal website for a list of podcasts and download the latest Robbie Shepherd offering.

2 Responses to “Robbie Shepherd and his Doric Column”

  1. Julie said

    I just stumbled upon your post while looking for information on Robbie Shepherd. Thank you so much for posting about Doric! I’ve been listening to Reel Blend and Take the Floor for years over the internet, but I didn’t know about this one – again, thanks. 🙂

    Here’s one for you, if you don’t already know about it – Traditional Tunes (Vertical Records):
    http://tradtunes.co.uk/
    When I hear a cut or album on Robbie’s shows that I particularly like and would like to have, I can often find the album there.

    Cheers!
    ~Julie~
    Washington State

  2. Thank you for your comment, Julie and for the link to tradtunes. I’ve bookmarked that. I have been ordering Scottish music from http://www.musicscotland.com.

    I have to limit myself, or else I’d be ordering everything!

    I particularly enjoyed Robbie’s interview with the members of Scotland the What! The sketch about ‘The Sleeper’ was in finest Doric!

    Sincerely,

    Margaret

Leave a Reply

 
