Berkeleyscot’s Weblog

Life as a Scot in California

  • Categories

  • Calendar

    February 2008
    S M T W T F S
    « Jan   Mar »
     12
    3456789
    10111213141516
    17181920212223
    242526272829  
  • Archives

Robbie Shepherd’s Doric podcast – I’m on it!

Posted by berkeleyscot on February 13, 2008

Every Saturday, Robbie presents a podcast in the Doric.

This past Saturday, February 9, he read a piece of a story I’d written, ‘Scottish Hospitality.’

I’m fair chuffed!

The transcript of the show appeared in the Aberdeen Press and Journal.

3 Responses to “Robbie Shepherd’s Doric podcast – I’m on it!”

  1. Mark said

    Thank you for your blog. I’ve been in Buckie now for two days, and I’m trying to learn to speak. I will be here a month, then it is on to Germany and Lithuania–where I knew I would be speaking a foreign language. I love the wonderful people and the town, and I am fascinated by the speech. I picked up a Doric dictionary, and Teach Yourself Doric–and I’m getting a couple coaches to help me. It was a sad week here. A wee lad and two others were killed (and one more is in critical condition)from a terrible accident on Easter Sunday.

    Keep giving us more of the Buckie dialect of the Doric language!

  2. Mark said

    By the way, I forgot to mention that the link to the podcast is evidently a link to the current day’s issue of the Aberdeen paper. Can you find a permanent link to the article or the podcast?

  3. Hello, Mark, fit like ma loon?

    Thank you for your comments.

    I’ve searched the P&J for Robbie Shepherd’s podcast of February 9, but like you, I get linked to the current edition only, even though I’d saved the link to the podcast of February 9.

    I’ll just have to contact the P&J and ask for help!

    I’ll let you know the answer, or if you want to, you can contact the P&J yourself and tell me what they say!

    I heard about the accident you mention on Radio Scotland. I think it was at Finechty?

    The A9 is a bad road.

    Fit are ye dee’in in Buckie?

    Hiv ye been tae the Catbow, far I grew up? It’s a posh noo.

    Aye yours,

    Margaret

Leave a Reply

 
