Berkeleyscot’s Weblog

Life as a Scot in California

  • Categories

  • Calendar

    April 2008
    S M T W T F S
    « Mar   May »
     12345
    6789101112
    13141516171819
    20212223242526
    27282930  
  • Archives

Billy Connolly

Posted by berkeleyscot on April 11, 2008

On April 9, Richard and I went to see Billy Connolly perform at the Post Street Theatre in San Francisco.

What an outrageous, energetic performance from a 65 yr. old man who spoke and pranced about the stage for 2 hours with no pause.

I first saw Billy in the late 1960s at the George Square Theatre of Edinburgh University, when he appeared with Gerry Rafferty. They were the Humblebums and I bought their LP. Stupidly, I sold that LP. I was a poor student and how I regret selling it.

I have been a fan of Billy Connolly for 40 years and I am happy for his success.

His profanity doesn’t bother me. For some reason, it cheers me up!

2 Responses to “Billy Connolly”

  1. esarsea said

    I love his stuff. I had just posted some of his youtube clips on my blog, and saw your post listed as a possible related topic…so I surfed on over to take a peek. Glad to meet another Billy fan!

  2. Billy has great talent and his height and flowing locks didn’t do him any harm either!

    Mind you, his flowing locks were a wee bit thinner and greyer than the last time I saw him!
    I’ll have a look at your youtube clips!

    Thanks!

Leave a Reply

 
