Berkeleyscot’s Weblog

Life as a Scot in California

  • Categories

  • Calendar

    September 2008
    S M T W T F S
    « Aug   Oct »
     123456
    78910111213
    14151617181920
    21222324252627
    282930  
  • Archives

I think I’d like my Royal Albert Back (1)

Posted by berkeleyscot on September 27, 2008

Now that the painters have gone, we’re unpacking the boxes of stuff we’d had to store while the work was being done.

I’m not enjoying this task at all. While compared to some, I don’t have a lot of things, for me, I have too many!

When we first came to Berkeley, we’d left a house in Cambridge, full of wedding gifts.  We did expect to go back, and bought inexpensive, temporary household goods to use for our stay.

I didn’t miss any of my possessions and never gave a thought to the Cost Plus dishes that now made up my dinner set!

But, over the last few years, I‘ve been thinking of my Royal Albert half tea set. It had been a wedding present. It was really the most unsuitable gift for a couple whose first home was a married students’ studio apartment in the grounds of Churchill College.

Actually, I forgot all about the Royal Albert.

Forgot about it till we had to go to Buckie, after Dad died, to prepare the house for sale.

Leave a Reply

 
