Berkeleyscot’s Weblog

Life as a Scot in California

  • Categories

  • Calendar

    January 2009
    S M T W T F S
    « Dec   Feb »
     123
    45678910
    11121314151617
    18192021222324
    25262728293031
  • Archives

I Think I became an American Today – Finally…

Posted by berkeleyscot on January 20, 2009

… After nearly 20 years of becoming a US citizen, I waved the American Flag I had been given at my citizenship ceremony.

No, I have not ceased to be a Scot. That is impossibility.

But today, I didn’t wave my Scottish flags.

I’m not the only one who has been challenged to become a citizen.

I recently discovered that a Scottish friend, who has lived here far longer than I have, has chosen to apply for US citizenship.

Her husband is American and I always assumed that she had become a citizen.

Only now, has she chosen to change her status!

Mind you, I’ll always stand when I hear, “My Country ‘tis of Thee…” and sing ‘God Save the Queen.’

I loved Aretha’s hat and waved my flag at her!

Leave a Reply

 
