Berkeleyscot’s Weblog

Life as a Scot in California

  • Categories

  • Calendar

    March 2009
    S M T W T F S
    « Feb   Apr »
    1234567
    891011121314
    15161718192021
    22232425262728
    293031  
  • Archives

My Experience at the Orthopedic Surgeon’s and Did I Mention I have Cerebral Palsy?

Posted by berkeleyscot on March 22, 2009

My knee seized up, as I described in a recent blog.

I made an appointment to see an orthopedic surgeon, someone I’d consulted a few years ago.

He wanted to have x-rays of my right knee.  He has an x-ray facility in his offices and that should have been a straightforward procedure.

The technician led me to the x-ray room and told me to get onto the table and lie down.  “I don’t think I can,” I said.  I’d had an x-ray in the same room and on the same table a few years ago, but now I wasn’t the same at all.

My broken arm has affected my balance and I’m unsteady. There were no handrails to hang on to as I tried to step on the stool to reach the table.

The table was a stainless steel tray. It reminded me of the tray that corpses lie on, in a morgue. The trays side in and out of drawers, with an identifying label attached to the deceased’s big toe.

There was a pillow on this stainless steel tray, but that didn’t help me feel comfortable.
The technician was aware I was not coping, physically, but she commanded me to lie on my right side.

I absolutely couldn’t do it. I tried. I was sliding all over the tray and believed if she’d tried to physically manipulate me, I’d actually fall off.  I had nothing to hold on to and was vocal in my distress.

She left the room and came back with the doctor. He tried to maneuver me around on the tray, but stopped when I grabbed his tie. It was the only thing near enough to hold on to. I was NOT trying to strangle him, but when I realised I might have, I grabbed his shirtsleeve and tried to sit up.

There is absolutely no traction on a stainless steel tray and there we were, sliding, strangling, shirt-ripping so I could sit up.

Don’t laugh!

It was frightening. The doctor was struggling. It would have made a great You Tube clip.
But it shouldn’t have been so difficult.

We seek medical help for that very reason. We need help.

When the doctor and I had recovered our breath, he looked at the one and only possible x-ray and decided to give me a cortisone shot in my knee.

I don’t think it was in revenge, but the needle was large and he made me promise I’d not kick him.

I didn’t and, for now, cortisone is now my friend.

One Response to “My Experience at the Orthopedic Surgeon’s and Did I Mention I have Cerebral Palsy?”

  1. Great discussion and I appreciate everyone’s input. Quick question. Our office are getting ready to build a site using wordpress ourselves. Can you point out a good resource for templates and the best plug ins to make it easy for staff to update content in a nice user friendly way? Thx in advance.

Leave a Reply

 
