Berkeleyscot’s Weblog

Life as a Scot in California

  • Categories

  • Calendar

    April 2009
    S M T W T F S
    « Mar   May »
     1234
    567891011
    12131415161718
    19202122232425
    2627282930  
  • Archives

All is Vanity: Ecclesiastes 1.2

Posted by berkeleyscot on April 10, 2009

Vanity of vanities, saith the Preacher, vanity of vanities; all is vanity.

I swore, all my life, that I would never have my hair coloured.

For many years I went to a ‘green’ hairdresser who refused to use chemicals in her salon. She simply cut hair.

But, a few years ago, I started going to another hair salon. Hair colouring was a prominent feature of the salon and strongly promoted.

I said “OK, but just do highlights. Do not touch my scalp with dye.”

Then, on an appointment a few months later, I felt the dye brush on my scalp.

I ought to have insisted that the procedure stop, but I didn’t.

The result was cheerful and fun.

Of course my hair is turning gray. That’s what I expect at my age and I never chose to colour my hair to disguise the gray.

A few months later, I went to another salon.

My vanity required its due.

The stylist did not cut my hair well. Something went wrong with the colouring process and my hair felt more like a helmet than hair. My hair was brittle, brassy and my scalp was irritated. My eyes watered with an allergic reaction to the dye.

I have not had my hair coloured since and I never will again.

My dermatologist has prescribed medication and I am impatiently waiting for a cure for my flaky scalp.

One Response to “All is Vanity: Ecclesiastes 1.2”

  1. luulu said

    Sometimes going to a hair salon is not always the answer. There are many
    home hair coloring product that are nonallergenic, for insatnce Henna. For now its best just to moistrize the scalp, so it can heal.

Leave a Reply

 
