Berkeleyscot’s Weblog

Life as a Scot in California

  • Categories

  • Calendar

    May 2009
    S M T W T F S
    « Apr   Jun »
     12
    3456789
    10111213141516
    17181920212223
    24252627282930
    31  
  • Archives

My First Home

Posted by berkeleyscot on May 22, 2009

The local doctor had arranged my adoption.  There was nothing so formal as a home study and no money changed hands.

It was decided I needed a home that was not to with my own flesh and blood and so arrangements were made.

When I was about six days old, I was taken from Cuparstone Nursing Home, Aberdeen to the Seatown in Buckie, to live with my adoptive parents, Alex and Peggy Cowie.

They made me so welcome!

Below is the first photo taken of me, with Mam, in my new home.  A wee suppie hair and nae teeth.  The double chin is evident even then.

The house was a traditional fisherman’s ‘but and ben.’  Dad’s parents lived in one end and we were in the other.

Behind Mam is the double bed that was in the living room.

At the time, the upstairs was an open space, where the nets were mended and stored. Great Uncle Jock was a sail maker and he also had space there for his sewing machine and materials. Later, the space was converted into bedrooms.

But this is where I lived for the first eight years of my life.

newbaby

2 Responses to “My First Home”

  1. Liz Dent said

    Hi, The matron Mary Stewart was my great aunt, I am tracing my family tree and if you have any information on her or Cuparstone I would be greatful to hear from you.

    • Hi, Liz
      I have very little information on Cuparstone Nursing Home or your great Aunt, Mary Stewart.

      I was the last baby to be born there on December 27 1949 and the Nursing Home closed in 1950/51. I believe my records were sealed for 100 years, making them no use to me. But, since I was born with cerebral palsy, I have a great interest in the circumstances of my birth.

      I remember there was a book on baby care in the house I grew up in. It had your Great Aunt’s signature in it and I believe she gave it to my adoptive mother. I intended to take it back to California with me, but when my adoptive father died in 2002 and I went to Buckie to prepare the house for sale, I found that the book had already been disposed of. I don’t suppose anyone realised its significance to me.

      Please give me your email or mailing address so that if I do find any information that would be helpful to you, I can share it with you directly and more privately.

Leave a Reply

 
